

## Nominations Invited for the 25<sup>th</sup> Plowden Medal Conservation Award 2024

Established in 1999 to commemorate the life and work of the late Hon. Anna Plowden CBE (1938 – 1997), this medal was endowed by the Royal Warrant Holders Association, of which she was Vice-President.

The Plowden Medal is awarded annually to **an individual who has made a significant contribution to the advancement of the conservation profession and whose nomination would be widely welcomed within the conservation community.** 

A Selection Board, drawn from the conservation community, the Royal Collection and the Royal Warrant Holders Association will consider nominations in June 2024. Please <u>click here</u> for the online form and the guidelines. The final date for the receipt of nominations is **Friday 17<sup>th</sup> May 2024.** The award will be presented at an RWHA event in the Autumn.

A tuition event for completing the nomination form will be held on <u>Wednesday 21<sup>st</sup> February and 13<sup>th</sup></u> <u>March @11am</u> on Zoom. To register or for any queries please email Claire Anderson at <u>plowdenmedal@rwha.co.uk</u>



The award covers all aspects of conservation be they practical, theoretical or managerial – and is open to those working in private practice or institutions.

Last year's winner was Professor Sarah Brown (pictured above receiving her medal)

**Previous winners** have been; Garry Thomson CBE (1999), Dr Jonathan Ashley-Smith (2000), Donald Insall CBE (2001), Dr David Leigh (2002), Clare Meredith (2003), Christopher Clarkson (2004), Carole Milner (2005), James Black (2006), Dr Vincent Daniels (2007), David Pinniger (2008), Professor Nicholas Pickwoad (2009), David Watkinson (2010) Kate Colleran (2011), Professor May Cassar (2012), Jonathan Betts MBE (2013), Dr Jim Tate (2014), Nancy Bell (2015), Sarah Staniforth (2015), Ksynia Marko (2016), Professor Sharon Cather (2017), Alan Derbyshire (2018), Caroline Bendix (2019), Katy Lithgow (2020), Stephen Clare MBE, Professor Jane Henderson FIIC (2021) and Julie Dawson ACR FIIC