12th International Congress on Deterioration and Conservation of Stone

User menu

Sunday, 21 October, 2012 - 23:00 to Thursday, 25 October, 2012 - 23:00
New York

Columbia University’s Historic Preservation Programme is pleased to host the conference on its New York City campus. This is the 40th anniversary of the conference first hosted by Professor V. Romanovsky in La Rochelle, France. Held every four years, this is the primary venue for the exchange of ideas and information among the community of scientists, conservators, and architects working in the field of stone conservation. The Scientific Committee has received nearly 300 abstract submissions so that we anticipate a highly informative conference. Submissions ultimately accepted for oral or poster presentation are offered to all attendees in book form at the conference.
Field trips in conjunction with conference may include Metropolitan Museum of Art: Department of Scientific Research and Objects Conservation Department, New York University, Conservation Center, Museum of Modern Art, Conservation Department, Isamu Noguchi Foundation Museum and Gardens, The Brown Decades – the use of brownstone in New York City architecture: walking tour, Cast stone in New York City architecture: walking tour, New York Public Library, Geological walking tour of Columbia University and environs, Cleopatra’s Needle in Central Park.

For further information and to be added to the e-mail list for future mailings, please contact George Wheeler at gw2130@columbia.edu.


Material Structure and Properties
Techniques and Tools for Investigation and Documentation
Conservation Methods and Products
Case Studies
Engineering and Materials Science in Stone Conservation
Adhesives, Mortars, Grouts, and Plastic Repair Materials
Green Issues in Stone Conservation
Testing Standards


Professionals: US$400
Students and Post-Doctoral Fellows: US$100


Vasco Fassina, President, Veronique Verges-Belmin, Secretary, Eric Doehne, Stefan Simon, Jadwiga Lukaszewicz, Daniel Kwiatkowski, Antonia Moropoulou, Hilde De Clercq, Philippe Bromblet, Johannes Weber, David Young, Milos Drdacky, Christine Bläuer Böhm, George Wheeler, Akos Torok, Fernando Henriques