Two-Part Series Online Discussion: Death of an Artwork in Contemporary Art.

User menu

Wednesday, 19 January, 2022 - 15:00 to Thursday, 20 January, 2022 - 15:00

Two-Part Series: Death of an Artwork in Contemporary Art.

Part I: INCCA Talk in collaboration with CAN! Conversations.
For our next INCCA Talk, we will invite Rosario Llamas Pacheco, author of the 2020 article Some Theory for the Conservation of Contemporary Art, published in Studies in Conservation, to speak with Ana-Lizeth Mata Delgado on the subject of the "Death of an Artwork", as the first of our two-part event organized in collaboration with CAN! Conversation.

Rosario, currently works at the Departamento de Conservación y Restauración de Bienes Culturales, Universitat Politècnica de València, es subdirectora del Instituto de Restauración del Patrimonio and does research in Conservation of Contemporary Art. Rosario will share with us her ideas on accepting 'death' as conservation ethics in contemporary art.

Lizeth is a professor-researcher at the National School for Conservation, Restoration and Museography (ENCRyM-INAH). in Mexico City. She is a Research Professor of the Seminar Workshop on Modern and Contemporary Art Restoration and Titular Coordinator of the research projects 'Registration, Diagnosis and Conservation of Urban Art' and 'Documentation, registration and material experimentation in modern and contemporary art'.

The event will be conducted in Spanish with simultaneous translation in English. There will be time for discussion with the audience, so please prepare questions if you wish to ask anything.

To sign up for the zoom meeting (free): https://www.eventbrite.com/e/incca-talk-in-collaboration-with-can-conver...

Part 2: CAN! Conversations with INCCA Café
Panelists talk about how the art industry (outside museums) declare artworks "dead".
Conservators: Lily Bennion, Zeeyoung Chin and Martha Singer

With Panelists:
Wendy Lindstrom, partner of Mazzola Lindstrom LLP, a law firm representing artists and artist estates.
Mary Sheridan, AVP Claim Salvage Manager, North America, Chubb Insurance

To sign up for the zoom meeting (free): https://www.eventbrite.com/e/can-conversations-with-incca-cafe-tickets-2...

Time:
6 am Los Angeles
8 am Mexico City
9 am New York City
3 pm Madrid to Frankfurt to Warsaw
10 pm Perth, Australia
11 pm Seoul, Korea

For more information go to: https://incca.org/articles/incca-talk-collaboration-can-conversations