Lecture: Traditional Sacred Texts and the Art that Makes them Accessible

User menu

Lecture: Traditional Sacred Texts and the Art that Makes them Accessible
Monday, 27 September, 2021 - 17:30

Traditional Buddhist texts in monasteries were inaccessible to diverse populations who had low literacy. Paintings, sculpture, music and dance carried iconographic depictions from the texts to serve as a guide to meditation and visualization. The relationship between texts and illustrative art is traditional and ongoing, even in today's digital universe. This presentation offers you a view into traditional Buddhist monastery archives and the changing art forms that continue to illustrate sacred texts.

A public lecture by conservator Ann Shaftel with Dalhousie University School of Information Management
Free, and no registration is necessary, please enter with this link and watch on Teams or on your browser
http://tinyurl.com/IMPublicLectures

Date and time: September 27th
Halifax, Nova Scotia 5:30-6:30 pm, Los Angeles 1:30 pm, Denver 2:30 pm, Chicago 3:30 pm, New York City 4:30 pm, London 21:30, Amsterdam 22:30