ICCROM webinar "Rethinking Textile Conservation"

User menu

Thursday, 25 November, 2021 - 07:00

Free Webinar
13:00 – 14:00 CET/7:00am EST/4:00am PST.

Registration is mandatory: https://www.iccrom.org/lecture/rethinking-textile-conservation

Panelists:
Zhao Feng, Director, China National Silk Museum;
Rini Hazel Templeton, Research Assistant, National Museum Institute, India;
Mar Gaitán, Research Assistant, University of Valencia, Spain; and
Barbara Knoke de Arathoon, Associate Investigator, Ixchel Museum of Indigenous Dress, Guatemala.

The moderator is José Luiz Pedersoli Jr, ICCROM.

From the ICCROM webinar page:
"The webinar will bring together a diverse group of international panelists to share their views and experience on this topic. Their case studies include the journey of archaeological textiles from excavation to conservation, research, and community-based activities in China; the revitalization of India's 'Rafoo' traditional culture of repair; the development of new digital tools in Europe to support creative industries taking inspiration from textile collections; and the role of conservation in the evolution and transformation of the Maya textile tradition in Guatemala."