Forbes Prize Lecture

Forbes Prize Lecture

The Forbes Prize recognises outstanding work in the field of conservation. The recipient of the prize gives a lecture at our biennial Congress. The prize has been awarded since 1960. This fund was originally set up at the Fogg Art Museum, Harvard University in 1958, to mark Edward W. Forbes's services to conservation. IIC provides a prize of £1,000 for outstanding work in the field of conservation. Some of the leading lights of the conservation world have given the lecture, beginning with Harold Plenderleith. IIC holds a written record of the lectures in its Archive. We are hoping to digitise and provide a recording or transcript for all lectures in due couse, in the meantime the most recent lectures are available below.

- Vicki-Anne Heikell MNZM (Wellington 2022)
- Norman H Tennent (Edinburgh 2020)
- Stefan Michalski (Turin 2018)
- Carol Mancusi-Ungaro (Los Angeles 2016)
- Dr. Jixiang Shan (?????) (Hong Kong 2014)
- Manfred Koller (Vienna 2012)
- David Lowenthal (Istanbul 2010)
- David Bomford (London 2008)
- Gaël de Guichen (Munich 2006)
- Andreas Burmester (Bilbao 2004)
- Elizabeth West FitzHugh (Baltimore 2002)
- Sarah Staniforth (Melbourne 2000)
- Ashok Roy (Dublin 1998)
- W. Andrew Oddy (Copenhagen 1996)
- H. W. M. Hodges (Ottawa 1994)
- A. E. Werner (Madrid 1992)
- Robert L. Feller (Brussels 1990)
- Kazuo Yamasaki (Kyoto 1988)
- Giorgio Torraca (Bologna 1986)
- John S Mills (Paris 1984)
- E. T. Hall (Washington 1982)
- Lawrence Majewski (Vienna 1980)
- Caroline Keck (Oxford 1978)
- Lars Barkmann (Stockholm 1975)
- Helmut Ruhemann (Lisbon 1972)
- Arthur van Schendel (New York 1970)
- Rutherford J. Gettens (London 1967)
- Paul Coremans (Delft 1964)
- Harold Plenderleith (Rome 1961)